It’s also important to understand how the Automatic Updates client behaves for the logged in user when SUS is used to deploy updates.
Users with Local Admin Privileges:
- AU client activity is transparent to all those users with local admin privilege.
- They will see notification balloons.
- They will be prompted according the configured AU option, if applicable
- Most importantly, they can delay or postpone the reboot.
Normal Users or Users without Local Admin Privileges:
- For normal users, all AU Client activity is hidden.
- They won’t see notification balloons.
- They will not be prompted of any of the AU OPTIONS, so options 2 & 3 as noted in the previous article will not.
- They cannot postpone any required reboots, as the NO options will be grayed out.